Making the Nursery Unique


I love being a grandmother and it thrills me when my girls, now grown women, ask for advice or need help.  When my grandson Andy was born, his mom, Kelly, knew what she wanted to the nursery to look like.  She didn’t want any of the crib sets on the market so we made her a crib set out of fabric she chose.  My favorite phrase has always been, “How hard can it be?”  Well, I learned just how hard it can be when we started sewing!  I am a self-taught seamstress and let’s just say, there is still much to learn. We did make a beautiful crib set but I must say I now ask, “how hard can it be”, sparingly.  I don’t have any pictures of it to upload right now but if I come across some, I will upload them.

Now when my daughter Jodi was expecting with my granddaughter Lauren she too wanted a unique nursery.  She found the comforter set she liked but she wanted to personalize the nursery.  So since I like to paint, she asked me to paint a picture to coordinate with the comforter set.  Since it was a jungle theme for little girls, I chose to paint the elephant. I used three canvases to make one picture, called a tryptic. Using the comforter for inspiration, I drew the elephant freehand and then painted over it.  I used acrylic paint and both sponge brushes and regular paint brushes.  For the trim around the picture, I needed something to stamp it with because there was so much of it.  You know those little spongy nail files they use at the nail salon and then give them to you? That is what I used to make the stamp by cutting away the sponge to resemble the trim on the comforter, then I dipped it in paint and stamped the trim.  I think it turned out nice.  See what you think.

Also, my daughter Jodi painted some wooden letters to spell Lauren’s name and placed it over the closet door. I think it looks nice.

So, what’s my message?  If you are feeling artistic, just do it.  How hard can it be?

About Denise

Sundays after church, big dinners, sweet tea, eavesdropping on the older ladies, learning to make fried potatoes and homemade biscuits at Muca Mac's knee, making birdhouses in Daddy's cabinet shop, the smell of sawdust and cherry pipe tobacco, shopping trips with Mama, matching shoes, Easter ham and Christmas plays, brothers playing tricks, cousins, friends, neighborhood ball games, bird dogs, Tupperware parties and Girls Auxillary, azaleas, dogwoods, good times.
This entry was posted in Crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

