First Craft of 2012


I enjoy making my own wreaths for the front door instead of buying them.  You can buy some pretty ones but often they need a little something extra and they are overpriced.  I don’t want them to look like everyone elses either.  So, a quick trip to Michaels  and I got the supplies to make a  wreath.

I chose an oval grapevine wreath with a little area in front that serves as a little basket and a beautiful blue jay and some light blue ribbon.  I already had two kinds of moss and some glue sticks and a hot glue gun (I mean HOT. ) It took about 15 minutes and a few burns later and the wreath is pictured below. 

Since the wreath is rustic, I chose not to use the ribbon, I’ll use that for another project.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought it.  I do have to fight the urge to frufru sometimes.

About Denise

Sundays after church, big dinners, sweet tea, eavesdropping on the older ladies, learning to make fried potatoes and homemade biscuits at Muca Mac's knee, making birdhouses in Daddy's cabinet shop, the smell of sawdust and cherry pipe tobacco, shopping trips with Mama, matching shoes, Easter ham and Christmas plays, brothers playing tricks, cousins, friends, neighborhood ball games, bird dogs, Tupperware parties and Girls Auxillary, azaleas, dogwoods, good times.
This entry was posted in Crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Craft of 2012

  1. bmweed says:

    Do you have these wreaths on your door all year long?
    I thought that this one looked very ‘spring’ like, and in Scotland I’ve never seen a wreath on a door other than at Christmas time.

    Yours is lovely and reminds me that spring is soon here! 😀

    • Denise says:

      Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. Yes we do have wreaths on our doors year round. I change out every season. I have a friend and we get together and go to the craft store and then make our wreaths. It’s a great way to spend time together and work on our crafts. Please visit again.

  2. Denise says:

    Just an update on this wreath. My plan was to make it look natural. Well, apparently it did because a robin built a nest in and had three babies. I didn’t get a pic because I was out of town during the process but my brother saw the eggs. And there was lint from our dryer in the nest. So cute.

Leave a Reply

